PR 2024 R5 - Shading & Regions (3rd - 9th May) Score Discuss
SM 2024 R4 - Outside & Converse (17th - 23rd May) Score Discuss
Feedback / Suggestions / Questions / Thoughts / Ideas on Puzzle Expo114 posts • Page 3 of 5 • 1 2 3 4 5
@ 2023-08-07 4:28 PM (#31897 - in reply to #31709) (#31897) Top

dipa



Posts: 2

Country : India

dipa posted @ 2023-08-07 4:28 PM

Thank you
@ 2023-08-14 12:38 AM (#31924 - in reply to #31709) (#31924) Top

Menderbug



Posts: 16

Country : Germany

Menderbug posted @ 2023-08-14 12:38 AM

Could the "solved elsewhere" option also be enabled for non-exclusive puzzles? Sometimes that label might be applied erroneously, or I might have test solved the puzzle for the author.
@ 2023-08-15 7:39 AM (#31926 - in reply to #31709) (#31926) Top

Soni



Posts: 4

Country : India

Soni posted @ 2023-08-15 7:39 AM

Right now the only way to see replays is if you have solved the puzzle already, which makes it pretty much redundant for the purposes of learning. There should be a "Give up" button (obviously framed nicer) that basically accepts that your timing will not be counted or "officially recorded". But then you can see others' replays and such, and actually complete the puzzle

Edited by Soni 2023-08-15 7:45 AM
@ 2023-08-15 8:29 AM (#31927 - in reply to #31709) (#31927) Top

dohz




Posts: 3

Country : United States

dohz posted @ 2023-08-15 8:29 AM

bug%3A+it+appears+that%2C+when+submitting+a+puzzle%2C+the+%E2%80%9Cinfo%E2%80%9D+field+cannot+be+directly+typed+into%2E+instead%2C+text+can+only+be+pasted+into+it%2E
@ 2023-08-15 11:46 AM (#31928 - in reply to #31926) (#31928) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-15 11:46 AM

Soni - 2023-08-15 7:39 AM

Right now the only way to see replays is if you have solved the puzzle already, which makes it pretty much redundant for the purposes of learning. There should be a "Give up" button (obviously framed nicer) that basically accepts that your timing will not be counted or "officially recorded". But then you can see others' replays and such, and actually complete the puzzle
The "give up" period is set to 24 hours. That means, 24 hours after you start a puzzle, you will be able to see the replay independent of whether you have solved it or not.
May be we should reduce the "give up" period? Thoughts?
@ 2023-08-16 6:24 AM (#31932 - in reply to #31927) (#31932) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-16 6:24 AM

%5BQUOTE%5Ddohz+%2D+2023%2D08%2D15++8%3A29+AM%0D%0A%0D%0Abug%3A+it+appears+that%2C+when+submitting+a+puzzle%2C+the+%E2%80%9Cinfo%E2%80%9D+field+cannot+be+directly+typed+into%2E+instead%2C+text+can+only+be+pasted+into+it%2E%5B%2FQUOTE%5DFixed%2E
@ 2023-08-16 9:52 AM (#31933 - in reply to #31928) (#31933) Top

Soni



Posts: 4

Country : India

Soni posted @ 2023-08-16 9:52 AM

Administrator - 2023-08-15 11:46 AM

Soni - 2023-08-15 7:39 AM

Right now the only way to see replays is if you have solved the puzzle already, which makes it pretty much redundant for the purposes of learning. There should be a "Give up" button (obviously framed nicer) that basically accepts that your timing will not be counted or "officially recorded". But then you can see others' replays and such, and actually complete the puzzle
The "give up" period is set to 24 hours. That means, 24 hours after you start a puzzle, you will be able to see the replay independent of whether you have solved it or not.
May be we should reduce the "give up" period? Thoughts?


I think the "give up period" should be a button instead of a fixed time period. Virtually nobody I know would fail to solve a puzzle AND go back to see a replay 24h later. But everyone's general thresholds for "How much time do I solve this before I need to see a solution" would be different. It's easier to have a button so people have the choice to see replays early.

Maybe if the concern is competitiveness, the period could have a fixed minimum? Maybe like the button is disabled for the first 30m-60m after which you can press it anytime you want?
@ 2023-08-17 9:53 AM (#31938 - in reply to #31933) (#31938) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-17 9:53 AM

Soni - 2023-08-16 9:52 AM
I think the "give up period" should be a button instead of a fixed time period. Virtually nobody I know would fail to solve a puzzle AND go back to see a replay 24h later. But everyone's general thresholds for "How much time do I solve this before I need to see a solution" would be different. It's easier to have a button so people have the choice to see replays early.
Maybe if the concern is competitiveness, the period could have a fixed minimum? Maybe like the button is disabled for the first 30m-60m after which you can press it anytime you want?
Thank you for your suggestion. We have added "Need help? View Replays" button which will be enabled 30 minutes after you start solving a puzzle. Upon confirming, you will be able to view replays. Even after clicking the button, you can continue to solve and submit the puzzle, but timing will not be displayed.
@ 2023-08-22 4:22 AM (#31947 - in reply to #31924) (#31947) Top

Menderbug



Posts: 16

Country : Germany

Menderbug posted @ 2023-08-22 4:22 AM

Menderbug - 2023-08-14 12:38 AM

Could the "solved elsewhere" option also be enabled for non-exclusive puzzles? Sometimes that label might be applied erroneously, or I might have test solved the puzzle for the author.
Just wanted to check that this didn't slip through the cracks. :)

Edited by Menderbug 2023-08-22 4:22 AM
@ 2023-08-22 6:21 AM (#31948 - in reply to #31947) (#31948) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-22 6:21 AM

Menderbug - 2023-08-22 4:22 AM

Menderbug - 2023-08-14 12:38 AM

Could the "solved elsewhere" option also be enabled for non-exclusive puzzles? Sometimes that label might be applied erroneously, or I might have test solved the puzzle for the author.
Just wanted to check that this didn't slip through the cracks. :)
It did slip under the radar, apologies for that.
For puzzles marked erroneously as "Exclusive", we encourage players to report it, so that we can fix it from the backend, if the author misses to. It certainly is a bigger problem and should be dealt separately.
Agree that there is no mechanism today for test-solved puzzles, unless you are using Expo's test solving link. We highly recommend that authors share the test solver's link, but we agree that it is not always possible. We can explore how to solve this problem, but can you also share the outcome you expect after clicking on this option? (e.g. able to rate the puzzles / view Replays OR Not showing up in "Unsolved List" OR the Most active players stats etc)? Please let us know.
@ 2023-08-22 6:50 PM (#31949 - in reply to #31709) (#31949) Top

Menderbug



Posts: 16

Country : Germany

Menderbug posted @ 2023-08-22 6:50 PM

I personally don't care too much whether I'd be able to vote in this situation, but it might be nice. Seeing replays, removing it from "unsolved" and adding it to the parenthesised number in player stats would be good. I mostly don't want to have to solve it again (especially with a non-representative time that an admin would have to remove).
@ 2023-08-25 7:45 AM (#31956 - in reply to #31949) (#31956) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-25 7:45 AM

Menderbug - 2023-08-22 6:50 PM

I personally don't care too much whether I'd be able to vote in this situation, but it might be nice. Seeing replays, removing it from "unsolved" and adding it to the parenthesised number in player stats would be good. I mostly don't want to have to solve it again (especially with a non-representative time that an admin would have to remove).
Done!
@ 2023-08-28 11:12 PM (#31964 - in reply to #31709) (#31964) Top

amedayke



Posts: 2

Country : turkey

amedayke posted @ 2023-08-28 11:12 PM

Merhaba%2E+Puzzle+Expo%27da+durmak+i%C3%A7in+bir+se%C3%A7enek+olsa+iyi+olur%2E+T%C4%B1pk%C4%B1+gmpuzzles+sitesindeki+gibi%2E+%C3%87%C3%BCnk%C3%BC+soruyu+yar%C4%B1da+b%C4%B1rakt%C4%B1%C4%9F%C4%B1mda+daha+sonra+soruya+d%C3%B6nd%C3%BC%C4%9F%C3%BCmde+s%C3%BCre+kald%C4%B1%C4%9F%C4%B1+yerden+devam+etmiyor%2E+47+dk+da+%C3%A7%C3%B6zd%C3%BC%C4%9F%C3%BCm+soruyu+7+saat+olarak+g%C3%B6steriyor%2E
@ 2023-08-28 11:13 PM (#31965 - in reply to #31709) (#31965) Top

amedayke



Posts: 2

Country : turkey

amedayke posted @ 2023-08-28 11:13 PM

Hello. There better be an option to stop at the Puzzle Expo. Just like on the gmpuzzles site. Because when I leave the question halfway, when I return to the question later, the time does not pick up where it left off. 47 min also shows the question I solved as 7 hours.
@ 2023-08-29 6:22 PM (#31967 - in reply to #31709) (#31967) Top

Gotroch



Posts: 83
20202020
Country : Czech Republic

Gotroch posted @ 2023-08-29 6:22 PM

I usually solve with Number - Candidates mode. Replays doesn't show candidates at all. During solving I enter few candidates in a cell, but in replay only big digit is shown at that cell.

Edited by Gotroch 2023-08-29 6:23 PM
@ 2023-08-29 9:36 PM (#31968 - in reply to #31965) (#31968) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-29 9:36 PM

amedayke - 2023-08-28 11:13 PM

Hello. There better be an option to stop at the Puzzle Expo. Just like on the gmpuzzles site. Because when I leave the question halfway, when I return to the question later, the time does not pick up where it left off. 47 min also shows the question I solved as 7 hours.
This is the designed implementation at the moment. We are not planning to revise it, for now.
@ 2023-08-29 9:36 PM (#31969 - in reply to #31967) (#31969) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-08-29 9:36 PM

Gotroch - 2023-08-29 6:22 PM

I usually solve with Number - Candidates mode. Replays doesn't show candidates at all. During solving I enter few candidates in a cell, but in replay only big digit is shown at that cell.
we will have this debugged.
@ 2023-10-13 1:19 AM (#32043 - in reply to #31709) (#32043) Top

bluerobin



Posts: 1

bluerobin posted @ 2023-10-13 1:19 AM

I'm very very new on the site, and I'm finding it very difficult to understand the controls on the puzzles. Spending too much time on the controls increases the puzzle time even though I didn't do that. Can there be a tutorial version for first timers to understand the controls?
@ 2023-11-06 4:18 PM (#32094 - in reply to #31709) (#32094) Top

Realshaggy



Posts: 69
202020
Country : Germany

Realshaggy posted @ 2023-11-06 4:18 PM

In any list, ordering the puzzles by using the "size" column does weird things. My guess is, the ordering is alphanumerical using the string in the size column. Probably the number of cells should be used.
@ 2023-11-14 7:19 AM (#32103 - in reply to #32094) (#32103) Top

Administrator



2000100050020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2023-11-14 7:19 AM

Realshaggy - 2023-11-06 4:18 PM

In any list, ordering the puzzles by using the "size" column does weird things. My guess is, the ordering is alphanumerical using the string in the size column. Probably the number of cells should be used.
Fixed this. Ordering is now based on "Number of Cells".
@ 2023-11-22 10:13 PM (#32112 - in reply to #31709) (#32112) Top

Realshaggy



Posts: 69
202020
Country : Germany

Realshaggy posted @ 2023-11-22 10:13 PM

Thank you, but can you please check again? It's working for the full list of puzzles now (as you can access it via the "recently published" button on the main site), but as soon as I'm setting any kind of filter (like excluding my solved puzzles or anything else), I'm still not able to order it by size.
@ 2023-12-14 10:28 PM (#32176 - in reply to #31709) (#32176) Top

RBK



Posts: 1

Country : India

RBK posted @ 2023-12-14 10:28 PM

Where can I register or get updates about the next contest
@ 2023-12-20 3:24 PM (#32187 - in reply to #31709) (#32187) Top

Realshaggy



Posts: 69
202020
Country : Germany

Realshaggy posted @ 2023-12-20 3:24 PM

Congrats%21+%F0%9F%98%81%0D%0A%0D%0Ahttps%3A%2F%2Fibb%2Eco%2FrdjGkZB
@ 2024-02-16 4:07 PM (#32387 - in reply to #31709) (#32387) Top

Gotroch



Posts: 83
20202020
Country : Czech Republic

Gotroch posted @ 2024-02-16 4:07 PM

Is there any reason why black coloured numbers are not accepted for answer checker? Usually (always?) only Green, Blue or Red colour numbers are required. Can you add black colour too? I solved some puzzles correctly with black numbers (when using Candidates mode, sometimes digits are set black as default), only to realize (usually after few minutes of searching for error) I need to rewrite them to needed colour.
@ 2024-02-16 8:50 PM (#32390 - in reply to #31709) (#32390) Top

xorevid



Posts: 1

Country : USA

xorevid posted @ 2024-02-16 8:50 PM

hi
Feedback / Suggestions / Questions / Thoughts / Ideas on Puzzle Expo114 posts • Page 3 of 5 • 1 2 3 4 5
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version