Yajilin Yacht (28th Jul - 17th Aug) has started Discuss
Riad Khanmagomedov's April Contest — 3rd to 10th April 201965 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1 2 3
@ 2019-04-04 2:54 PM (#26839 - in reply to #26835) (#26839) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-04 2:54 PM

No, not ships. I was asking about the 5x10 fragments. But nevermind, I solved it. It was fun.
@ 2019-04-04 9:22 PM (#26840 - in reply to #26839) (#26840) Top

Administrator



2000100010010010010020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2019-04-04 9:22 PM

Submission page


The Submission page is now ready: http://logicmastersindia.com/2019/04Contest/

You can submit your answer keys now. There is no instant grading in this test.

(Potential) Results link shows possible points based on submissions, even if incorrect.

Some of the answer keys (mainly for Optimizers) may show red validation messages. They can be ignored if you think your answer key is right.

Submissions should be completed by 10th April midnight (Moscow time).

@ 2019-04-04 10:05 PM (#26841 - in reply to #26822) (#26841) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-04 10:05 PM

A remark about Magic Tapa : because we always have R>=r and C>=c, minimizing (|R-r|-r + |C-c|-c) is always exactly the same thing than minimizing (R-2r+C-2c). Right?
@ 2019-04-04 11:47 PM (#26842 - in reply to #26841) (#26842) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-04 11:47 PM

ROFL.. you are right. That's a print error. Perhaps it was intended like this: the closing pipe comes after the third 'r'. |R-r-r| + C-c-c|
@ 2019-04-05 3:47 AM (#26843 - in reply to #26822) (#26843) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 179
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-05 3:47 AM

At The Levers: Does the small example have two solutions? When I put "3-3" on the diagonal lever it also works, or is this not allowed?
@ 2019-04-05 9:32 AM (#26844 - in reply to #26841) (#26844) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-05 9:32 AM

It appears the objective here is to maximize the row min and column min, as also indicated by the revealing title. Maximize (r+c) could be a simpler scoring formula.
@ 2019-04-05 1:07 PM (#26845 - in reply to #26843) (#26845) Top

L00ping007



Posts: 5

Country : France

L00ping007 posted @ 2019-04-05 1:07 PM

kiwijam - 2019-04-04 11:47 PM

At The Levers: Does the small example have two solutions? When I put "3-3" on the diagonal lever it also works, or is this not allowed?


I agree, the 2 solutions work for me

Léotte - 2019-04-04 10:20 AM

At the levers : can you check for the solution? I may be mistaken (of course!), but I really see no solution here :/


Same for me ... My step by step logic way leads to a dead end


Do we miss something here ?
@ 2019-04-05 2:10 PM (#26846 - in reply to #26838) (#26846) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 2:10 PM

Léotte - 2019-04-04 2:20 PM

At the levers : can you check for the solution? I may be mistaken (of course!), but I really see no solution here :/

4 testers solved this puzzle.
@ 2019-04-05 2:11 PM (#26847 - in reply to #26841) (#26847) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 2:11 PM

Puzlifouk - 2019-04-04 10:05 PM

A remark about Magic Tapa : because we always have R>=r and C>=c, minimizing (|R-r|-r + |C-c|-c) is always exactly the same thing than minimizing (R-2r+C-2c). Right?

Convert the expression as you like.
@ 2019-04-05 2:11 PM (#26848 - in reply to #26842) (#26848) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 2:11 PM

anurag - 2019-04-04 11:47 PM

ROFL.. you are right. That's a print error. Perhaps it was intended like this: the closing pipe comes after the third 'r'. |R-r-r| + C-c-c|

There is no printer error. Some of the puzzles I've made in 2015 and corrected in 2019. I modified the problem, but the expression is correct.
@ 2019-04-05 2:12 PM (#26849 - in reply to #26843) (#26849) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 2:12 PM

kiwijam - 2019-04-05 3:47 AM

At The Levers: Does the small example have two solutions? When I put "3-3" on the diagonal lever it also works, or is this not allowed?

Thanks for the comment, I'll correct the example.
@ 2019-04-05 2:38 PM (#26850 - in reply to #26848) (#26850) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-05 2:38 PM

Strange. Are you saying sub-zero scores are valid and considered as more rewarding than a score of 0?
@ 2019-04-05 3:13 PM (#26851 - in reply to #26822) (#26851) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 179
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-05 3:13 PM

Anurag, please show respect to Riad, I'm much enjoying the effort he has done for this competition.
I think the Magic Tapa expression is clear and makes sense as it is (range minus minimum). As he says, you can maximize whatever you like but the final scores will be based on the official expression.
And yes, a score of -1 would be better than a score of 0 if you can achieve that. If there are other negative scores then the most negative score would be the best.
@ 2019-04-05 4:45 PM (#26852 - in reply to #26822) (#26852) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-05 4:45 PM

I do not know what "score" you are talking about when you say "And yes, a score of -1 would be better than a score of 0 if you can achieve that. If there are other negative scores then the most negative score would be the best."
If the score is the final score to maximize (that is | R-r | -r + | C-c | -c), then personally I have never seen that -1> 0 nor -10 > -5 !?! ... But you are free: as you say the expression is clear, everybody will interpret as he wants.
@ 2019-04-05 5:13 PM (#26853 - in reply to #26852) (#26853) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-05 5:13 PM

That's Correct and clears the doubt, at least for some.
The whole purpose of asking questions is to be able to complete the set and I am sure puzzle solving is not an objectionable activity. For any unrelated suggestions/objections, I believe personal emails are a better medium.
@ 2019-04-05 6:08 PM (#26854 - in reply to #26842) (#26854) Top

Administrator



2000100010010010010020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2019-04-05 6:08 PM

anurag - 2019-04-04 11:47 PM

ROFL..
We request everyone to please stick to "English" on this forum. Thanks.
@ 2019-04-05 6:39 PM (#26855 - in reply to #26831) (#26855) Top

3strikerz



Posts: 8

Country : South Korea

3strikerz posted @ 2019-04-05 6:39 PM

anurag - 2019-04-03 11:06 PM

Ships: As it is not mentioned on the file, I assume the fragments are pulled out straight without rotation and can be put back the same way as they are. Also, the column clues consider all 10 cells and not just the 5-cell strip.


Probably everyone might have understood the puzzle description, but since I didn't and need some clarification;

A)Is the red clues in the 5x10 fragments intended to be solved as 5x10 battleship clues, or is the red clues the equivalent of 10x10 original battleship clues?

B)Is it okay for ships to be 'fragmented' in the 5x10 clues?
@ 2019-04-05 7:16 PM (#26856 - in reply to #26852) (#26856) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-05 7:16 PM

Very sorry all, the expression has to be minimized! So everything is clear and ok, I will not comment this point any more.
@ 2019-04-05 7:19 PM (#26857 - in reply to #26822) (#26857) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 7:19 PM

In puzzle 11, I will remove the brackets, if it is principled. Minimize the expression R – 2r + C – 2c. James rightly noted that the minimum can be negative.
In puzzle 7, the red clues extend to 10 cells.


Edited by Riad Khanmagomedov 2019-04-05 7:20 PM
@ 2019-04-05 9:36 PM (#26858 - in reply to #26857) (#26858) Top

randomperson1729



Posts: 10

Country : United States

randomperson1729 posted @ 2019-04-05 9:36 PM

I have a question about "at the levers."
If two digits are on one side of the balance, is each one multiplied by its distance from the balance? So if there are two digits next to each other on the pivot, with the closest one unit away from the pivot, would the total for that side be thw closer digit plus twice the outer digit?
@ 2019-04-06 12:13 AM (#26859 - in reply to #26858) (#26859) Top

ghirsch



Posts: 102
100
Country : United States

ghirsch posted @ 2019-04-06 12:13 AM

It looks like the example for dice masyu has multiple solutions, can you confirm if this is a mistake or if I am misunderstanding a rule?



(Screen Shot 2019-04-05 at 2.41.26 PM.png)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Screen Shot 2019-04-05 at 2.41.26 PM.png (32KB - 1 downloads)
@ 2019-04-06 11:55 AM (#26860 - in reply to #26822) (#26860) Top

deu



Posts: 69
202020
Country : Japan

deu posted @ 2019-04-06 11:55 AM

In Fragments of Seas, is it allowed to rotate and/or reflect fragments?
@ 2019-04-06 2:07 PM (#26861 - in reply to #26822) (#26861) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 179
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-06 2:07 PM

@randomperson1729: Exactly right.
@ghirsch: The Dice Masyu example has multiple solutions, but the big puzzle has only one solution.
@deu: No, the 10x5 rectangles can not be rotated or reflected.
@ 2019-04-06 4:07 PM (#26862 - in reply to #26822) (#26862) Top

Administrator



2000100010010010010020
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2019-04-06 4:07 PM

Puzzle Booklet

An updated version of Puzzle Booklet can now be downloaded.

Changes:
1) Puzzle 6: Correction to the example
2) Puzzle 11: Removed the brackets for the expression to be minimized

@ 2019-04-07 1:54 AM (#26863 - in reply to #26822) (#26863) Top

Badacoin



Posts: 4

Country : France

Badacoin posted @ 2019-04-07 1:54 AM

7. Fragments of Sea:
Can two grids use the same ship type?

8. Dice Masyu
What happens when you place a dice on top of an existing circle? Does the position of this existing circle have to match the position of a circle on the dice?
Riad Khanmagomedov's April Contest — 3rd to 10th April 201965 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1 2 3
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version