Kakuro Kart (20th Jun - 10th Jul) has started Discuss
Riad Khanmagomedov's April Contest — 3rd to 10th April 201965 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1 2 3
@ 2019-04-05 2:12 PM (#26849 - in reply to #26843) (#26849) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 2:12 PM

kiwijam - 2019-04-05 3:47 AM

At The Levers: Does the small example have two solutions? When I put "3-3" on the diagonal lever it also works, or is this not allowed?

Thanks for the comment, I'll correct the example.
@ 2019-04-05 2:38 PM (#26850 - in reply to #26848) (#26850) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-05 2:38 PM

Strange. Are you saying sub-zero scores are valid and considered as more rewarding than a score of 0?
@ 2019-04-05 3:13 PM (#26851 - in reply to #26822) (#26851) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 178
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-05 3:13 PM

Anurag, please show respect to Riad, I'm much enjoying the effort he has done for this competition.
I think the Magic Tapa expression is clear and makes sense as it is (range minus minimum). As he says, you can maximize whatever you like but the final scores will be based on the official expression.
And yes, a score of -1 would be better than a score of 0 if you can achieve that. If there are other negative scores then the most negative score would be the best.
@ 2019-04-05 4:45 PM (#26852 - in reply to #26822) (#26852) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-05 4:45 PM

I do not know what "score" you are talking about when you say "And yes, a score of -1 would be better than a score of 0 if you can achieve that. If there are other negative scores then the most negative score would be the best."
If the score is the final score to maximize (that is | R-r | -r + | C-c | -c), then personally I have never seen that -1> 0 nor -10 > -5 !?! ... But you are free: as you say the expression is clear, everybody will interpret as he wants.
@ 2019-04-05 5:13 PM (#26853 - in reply to #26852) (#26853) Top

anurag



Posts: 136
10020
Country : India

anurag posted @ 2019-04-05 5:13 PM

That's Correct and clears the doubt, at least for some.
The whole purpose of asking questions is to be able to complete the set and I am sure puzzle solving is not an objectionable activity. For any unrelated suggestions/objections, I believe personal emails are a better medium.
@ 2019-04-05 6:08 PM (#26854 - in reply to #26842) (#26854) Top

Administrator



20001000100100100100
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2019-04-05 6:08 PM

anurag - 2019-04-04 11:47 PM

ROFL..
We request everyone to please stick to "English" on this forum. Thanks.
@ 2019-04-05 6:39 PM (#26855 - in reply to #26831) (#26855) Top

3strikerz



Posts: 8

Country : South Korea

3strikerz posted @ 2019-04-05 6:39 PM

anurag - 2019-04-03 11:06 PM

Ships: As it is not mentioned on the file, I assume the fragments are pulled out straight without rotation and can be put back the same way as they are. Also, the column clues consider all 10 cells and not just the 5-cell strip.


Probably everyone might have understood the puzzle description, but since I didn't and need some clarification;

A)Is the red clues in the 5x10 fragments intended to be solved as 5x10 battleship clues, or is the red clues the equivalent of 10x10 original battleship clues?

B)Is it okay for ships to be 'fragmented' in the 5x10 clues?
@ 2019-04-05 7:16 PM (#26856 - in reply to #26852) (#26856) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-05 7:16 PM

Very sorry all, the expression has to be minimized! So everything is clear and ok, I will not comment this point any more.
@ 2019-04-05 7:19 PM (#26857 - in reply to #26822) (#26857) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-05 7:19 PM

In puzzle 11, I will remove the brackets, if it is principled. Minimize the expression R – 2r + C – 2c. James rightly noted that the minimum can be negative.
In puzzle 7, the red clues extend to 10 cells.


Edited by Riad Khanmagomedov 2019-04-05 7:20 PM
@ 2019-04-05 9:36 PM (#26858 - in reply to #26857) (#26858) Top

randomperson1729



Posts: 10

Country : United States

randomperson1729 posted @ 2019-04-05 9:36 PM

I have a question about "at the levers."
If two digits are on one side of the balance, is each one multiplied by its distance from the balance? So if there are two digits next to each other on the pivot, with the closest one unit away from the pivot, would the total for that side be thw closer digit plus twice the outer digit?
@ 2019-04-06 12:13 AM (#26859 - in reply to #26858) (#26859) Top

ghirsch



Posts: 102
100
Country : United States

ghirsch posted @ 2019-04-06 12:13 AM

It looks like the example for dice masyu has multiple solutions, can you confirm if this is a mistake or if I am misunderstanding a rule?



(Screen Shot 2019-04-05 at 2.41.26 PM.png)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Screen Shot 2019-04-05 at 2.41.26 PM.png (32KB - 1 downloads)
@ 2019-04-06 11:55 AM (#26860 - in reply to #26822) (#26860) Top

deu



Posts: 69
202020
Country : Japan

deu posted @ 2019-04-06 11:55 AM

In Fragments of Seas, is it allowed to rotate and/or reflect fragments?
@ 2019-04-06 2:07 PM (#26861 - in reply to #26822) (#26861) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 178
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-06 2:07 PM

@randomperson1729: Exactly right.
@ghirsch: The Dice Masyu example has multiple solutions, but the big puzzle has only one solution.
@deu: No, the 10x5 rectangles can not be rotated or reflected.
@ 2019-04-06 4:07 PM (#26862 - in reply to #26822) (#26862) Top

Administrator



20001000100100100100
Country : India

Administrator posted @ 2019-04-06 4:07 PM

Puzzle Booklet

An updated version of Puzzle Booklet can now be downloaded.

Changes:
1) Puzzle 6: Correction to the example
2) Puzzle 11: Removed the brackets for the expression to be minimized

@ 2019-04-07 1:54 AM (#26863 - in reply to #26822) (#26863) Top

Badacoin



Posts: 4

Country : France

Badacoin posted @ 2019-04-07 1:54 AM

7. Fragments of Sea:
Can two grids use the same ship type?

8. Dice Masyu
What happens when you place a dice on top of an existing circle? Does the position of this existing circle have to match the position of a circle on the dice?
@ 2019-04-07 1:10 PM (#26864 - in reply to #26822) (#26864) Top

Puzlifouk



Posts: 55
2020
Country : France

Puzlifouk posted @ 2019-04-07 1:10 PM

A small question again, about "Fragments of seas" : is there 1 fragment from each grid, or is it possible that 2 fragments come from the same grid, and no fragment come from another grid?
@ 2019-04-07 3:12 PM (#26865 - in reply to #26864) (#26865) Top

rakesh_rai




Posts: 774
500100100202020
Country : India

rakesh_rai posted @ 2019-04-07 3:12 PM

Puzlifouk - 2019-04-07 1:10 PM

A small question again, about "Fragments of seas" : is there 1 fragment from each grid, or is it possible that 2 fragments come from the same grid, and no fragment come from another grid?
one fragment from each grid
@ 2019-04-07 3:13 PM (#26866 - in reply to #26822) (#26866) Top

Badacoin



Posts: 4

Country : France

Badacoin posted @ 2019-04-07 3:13 PM

I'd like some clarification about Dice Masyu.

What happens when you place a dice on top of an existing circle? Must the position of the existing circle match the position of a circle on the dice?
Do all existing circles in the grid belong to a dice?


Edit: Sorry for the double post, I thought I made a mistake and didn't correctly submit the first one

Edited by Badacoin 2019-04-07 3:29 PM
@ 2019-04-07 3:16 PM (#26867 - in reply to #26863) (#26867) Top

rakesh_rai




Posts: 774
500100100202020
Country : India

rakesh_rai posted @ 2019-04-07 3:16 PM

Badacoin - 2019-04-07 1:54 AM

7. Fragments of Sea:
Can two grids use the same ship type?

One type in each grid. The answer to your question is "NO."
@ 2019-04-07 7:03 PM (#26868 - in reply to #26822) (#26868) Top

GaS



Posts: 24
20
Country : ITALY

GaS posted @ 2019-04-07 7:03 PM

Hi all,
what about multiple submission for optimizer puzzles? There is reduction of potential score, as for usual LMI contest, or are allowed without impact on the score?
Thanks
Gabriele
@ 2019-04-07 8:40 PM (#26869 - in reply to #26868) (#26869) Top

rakesh_rai




Posts: 774
500100100202020
Country : India

rakesh_rai posted @ 2019-04-07 8:40 PM

GaS - 2019-04-07 7:03 PM

Hi all,
what about multiple submission for optimizer puzzles? There is reduction of potential score, as for usual LMI contest, or are allowed without impact on the score?
Thanks
Gabriele

Last submission will be considered. There is no penalty as there is no instant grading.
@ 2019-04-08 6:22 AM (#26870 - in reply to #26822) (#26870) Top

Eugene Porter



Posts: 11

Country : United States

Eugene Porter posted @ 2019-04-08 6:22 AM

Hi there I am enjoying your contest. It is very well done. I do have a question about Dice Maysu. If you cover an existing circle with a half domino is it still 'seen'? For example, if one were to place a domino of six such that a pre-existing circle would be the middle of that six after placement --- would the middle circle be covered ? Would the circle be 'in play' along with the rest of the domino ? Or would one not be allowed to place a domino of 6 in such a location?

Thanks -E
@ 2019-04-08 10:40 AM (#26871 - in reply to #26822) (#26871) Top

kiwijam



Posts: 178
100202020
Country : New Zealand

kiwijam posted @ 2019-04-08 10:40 AM

In Dice Masyu, every given circle must match a half-domino circle.
e.g. You cannot place a 6-domino such that the centre cell of the 6 covers an existing circle.
And you cannot have an existing circle with no half-domino covering it.
@ 2019-04-08 1:38 PM (#26872 - in reply to #26822) (#26872) Top

Riad Khanmagomedov



Posts: 187
10020202020
Country : Russia

Riad Khanmagomedov posted @ 2019-04-08 1:38 PM

Thanks for the comments, I will consider everything (including those received by mail) and update the file later.
@ 2019-04-08 10:08 PM (#26873 - in reply to #26872) (#26873) Top

L00ping007



Posts: 5

Country : France

L00ping007 posted @ 2019-04-08 10:08 PM

I understood my mistake on Levers, and finally solved it ! So my earlier post can be trashed ...

I also just solved "Crossword with tips". Great puzzle ! I loved it
But I was surprised to find multiple distinct solutions to this puzzle (i found 5)
However, the marked diagonal is the same for these 5 solutions, so no matter.
Are you aware of these multiple solutions, or do you want me to provide them to you ?
Riad Khanmagomedov's April Contest — 3rd to 10th April 201965 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1 2 3
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version