Indian Sudoku Championship 2009

LMI ForumMonthly TestsLogin / Register
LMI conducted the 7th edition of Sudoku Mahabharat, which also serve as qualifiers for Indian Sudoku Championship, from January to July 2021. Read more here.
Indian Results and International Results.
LMI conducted the 6th edition of Puzzle Ramayan, which also serve as qualifiers for Indian Puzzle Championship, from January to July 2021. Read more here.
Indian Results and International Results.

Sudoku Mix - Vol #1
Logic Masters India announces its first published book consisting of 100+ Sudokus created by some of India's top authors. Read more about the book and grab your copy soon!

Indian Sudoku Champion 2020

Rohan Rao

Indian Puzzle Champion 2020

Prasanna Seshadri

Sudoku Mahabharat Winner 2020

Aashay Patil

Puzzle Ramayan Winner 2020

Jayant Ameta
Indian Sudoku Championship 2009

All resident Indian nationals, irrespective of age, can participate in Indian Sudoku Championship. The Championship will be an online test on March 14-15, 2009. The sudoku-solving skills of contestants will be tested using different sudoku variations which appear in the WSCs. Top rankers at the Indian Sudoku Championship will be eligible to represent India at the 4th World Sudoku Championship to be held in Zilina in April 2009.

Rules And Regulations

The Indian Sudoku Championship will consist of 3 parts each of 45 minutes.
All three parts of the test will be held twice on 14th and 15th March 2009 to account for network problems for the participants. The best of two scores for each part across both days will be counted in the final score for each participant. The schedule is as follows:

Day1 - 14th March

14:00 - 14:45 Classic Sudoku
15:00 - 15:45 Basic variants relay
16:00 - 16:45 New variants

Day2 - 15th March

10:00 - 10:45 Classic Sudoku
11:00 - 11:45 Basic variants relay
12:00 - 12:45 New variants

Ranking will be done on the basis of total score. Ties will be broken using the following rules in order:

  • Fewest number of incorrect answers (blank answers are ignored)
  • Earliest time stamp

External help of any kind is not permitted. This means no assistance of any kind from any other person, also any books, calculators, computers or tools other than the items explicitly permitted. Writing instruments of any shape or design, erasers, rulers and paper are allowed.


Instruction Booklet, Points Table, Sudoku Booklets and Answer Booklets can be downloaded from here


Congratulations to all the toppers and Ritesh Gupta for being the national champion for a third consecutive year. Gaurav Korde, who was leading after the first day, stood in second position amongst the Indians. Thanks a lot to all the guest participants for contributing towards a successful event.

Rank Name Score
1 Ritesh Gupta 1330
2 Gaurav Korde 1195
3 Himanshu Mittal 1045
4 Rohan Rao 1040
5 Puneet Goenka 1035
6 Rajesh Kumar 905
7 Lovely Krishna 890
8 Tejal Phatak 880
9 Utkaarsh Somaiya 875
10 Jaipal M Reddy 870
11 Sumit Bothra 785
12 Himani Shah 745

Click here for all results.

Last edited by Administrator @ 8/20/2015 9:59:52 AM.

ISC 2009
Rules & Regulations
About LMI
Logic Masters India (LMI) is the Indian representative of World Puzzle Federation. Read more about LMI here
National Championships
Indian Sudoku League (ISKL)
Sudoku Mahabharat
Puzzle Ramayan
College Fests
Monthly Tests
Mock Tests
Monthly Tests Ratings
LMI Sudoku Ratings
LMI Puzzle Ratings
About LMI
Interactive Puzzles
Puzzle blogs
Other Puzzle sites
Meet the Champions
LMI Test Authors
Monthly Tests Archives