Discussion Thread

About Sudoku Mahabharat 2021

Logic Masters India (LMI) is conducting the Indian Sudoku Championship (ISC) 2021 (tentatively) in July or August 2021. Like previous years, the qualification for ISC will begin early, from January 2021 onwards, in the form of Sudoku Mahabharat online rounds. The structure is largely the same as last year, but there will be 8 rounds instead of 6. Read on to find out more.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best Sudoku solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 8 online rounds (approximately one every 3-4 weeks), based on different themes of Sudoku variants. The rounds are largely the same as the 2020 edition, in different order and capacity.
  • Like the recent years before 2020, the offline final will have a participation fee which will mainly be to recover venue/food costs. This fee will be updated a little later once the venue is confirmed. The online rounds will continue to be free for all.
  • There are 3-4* spots for the Indian A team for WSC 2021, which will be decided by this tournament.
    *Depending on whether the player awarded a wildcard from WSC 2019 participates.
  • There will be a separate playoff at the end of the offline finals to determine the Mahabharat winner. There will be an eligibility criteria for this playoff, as explained below, to preserve the essence of Sudoku Mahabharat.


All players who have achieved any one of the following are NOT eligible to participate in the playoff to determine the Sudoku Mahabharat winner.
  • Represented India in A-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least once in the last 10 years..
  • Represented India in B-Team / UN-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least twice in the last 10 years..
  • Won the Sudoku Mahabharat title twice.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate in the playoff:
  • Amit Sowani (WSC 2016-B, WSC 2018-B)
  • Gaurav Korde (WSC 2012-A)
  • Gaurav Kumar Jain (WSC 2016-B, WSC 2017-B)
  • Jaipal Reddy (WSC 2017-A)
  • Kishore Kumar (WSC 2018-A)
  • Pranav Kamesh (WSC 2018-A)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WSC 2018-A)
  • Rajesh Kumar (WSC 2015-B, WSC 2016-B)
  • Rakesh Rai (WSC 2016-A)
  • Rishi Puri (WSC 2017-A)
  • Rohan Rao (WSC 2018-A)
  • Sumit Bothra (WSC 2014-A)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WSC 2014-B, WSC 2016-B)
  • Tejal Phatak (WSC 2011-A)

Offline finals: Registration process

  • The process of filling up the offline finals' slots is the same as last year's process. We want to encourage solvers who aren't near the top yet but still want the experience of an offline final. The eligibility criteria is that the solver must have participated in at least 6 of the 8 online rounds ('participated' here means achieving a non-zero score in the round) OR reaches the top 60 in lesser rounds. After Round 7, we will ask the solvers from 1-30 first and give them a week to confirm participation. After this, registrations will be open to participants from 31-60 for a week, and then it is open to everyone 'eligible' by the criteria above, till we get to 60 participants. After that, depending on venue restrictions, we will be ending registrations.
  • The points total from the online rounds (i.e. the best 6 rounds for each participant) will be considered to give some base points to finalists to start with in the offline round. Specifically, the finalists will start with an average of their best 6 normalized scores. (UPDATE on 17 April 2021: Points from Round 4 will not be included. So the best 5 out of 7 rounds will be considered.)
  • If online round organizers participate in the offline finals they will automatically get 100 base points.


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-21yrs and over-50yrs will receive special prizes.
  • All players travelling from other countries (non-Indians), will receive special prizes.
  • Best Author(s) will receive a prize (based on Overall Ratings)
RoundAuthorDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
StandardR. Kumaresan29 Jan-04 Feb 2021Prasanna SeshadriRohan RaoPranav Kamesh
OutsideAkash Doulani & Dhruvarajsinh Puwar19-25 Feb 2021Prasanna SeshadriRohan RaoKishore Kumar
Substitution & NeighboursRakesh Rai19-25 Mar 2021Prasanna SeshadriRohan RaoKishore Kumar
MathMadhav Sankaranarayanan16-22 Apr 2021
ConverseHemant Kumar Malani14-19 May 2021Rohan RaoPrasanna SeshadriKishore Kumar
Irregular & Twisted ClassicsJames Peter21-27 May 2021Prasanna SeshadriRohan RaoKishore Kumar
HybridsGaurav Kumar Jain11-16 Jun 2021Prasanna SeshadriJames PeterKishore Kumar
Odd EvenNityant Agarwal23-28 Jul 2021Prasanna SeshadriKishore KumarJames Peter
All rounds will start some time on Friday and will be open till Wednesdays.
All times in Indian Standard Time (GMT+5:30)


Each round will have 18 Sudokus to be solved in 90 minutes
All rounds will have the following composition:
  • Four 6X6 Standard Sudokus
  • Four 9X9 Standard Sudoku
  • Five 6X6 Sudoku Variants
  • Five 9X9 Sudoku Variants
Any Sudoku variants used in each round will appear in both sizes, 6x6 and 9x9, i.e. there will be five different Sudoku variants in a round.


  • In each round, the fourth best Indian score among eligible players will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • For International Rankings, the tenth best score in each round will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • Participants will get points as allotted for each sudoku correctly submitted.
  • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting participant will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions. (Also refer FAQ.)
  • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all sudokus correctly within 90 minutes.
  • For determining rankings for offline finals consideration, each player's best 6 scores out of 8 online rounds will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst two scores are discarded). For authors, the round authored is considered as a round with a 0 score.
  • Final Leaderboard

    To be announced later

    International Players

    • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
    • These contests will be included in LMI Sudoku ratings.
    • International players are not eligible to win either the ISC or the Mahabharat title at the offline finals but can attend and participate managing their own expenses. We request any interested International players to let the organizers know early, before Round 6, so we can consider it in our plans.


    If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.

    Last edited by prasanna16391 @ 12/4/2021 5:54:27 AM.