Discussion Thread

About Puzzle Ramayan 2016-17

Logic Masters India (LMI) is conducting the Indian Puzzle Championship (IPC) 2017 (tentatively) in July-2017. Like last year, the qualification for IPC will begin early, from January 2017 onwards, in the form of Puzzle Ramayan online rounds. The structure is different this year, read on to find out more.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best puzzle solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 4 online rounds (one every month), based on different themes of Puzzle types. Last year, we had 8 online rounds with 8 different themes. These 8 themes will be repeated this time, but each round will feature two different themes together.
  • Like last year, this offline final will have a participation fee which will mainly be to recover venue/food costs. This fee will be updated a little later once the venue is confirmed. The online rounds will continue to be free for all.
  • There are 4 spots for the Indian A team for WPC 2017, which will be decided by this tournament.
  • There will be a separate playoff after these rounds to determine the Ramayan winner. There will be an eligibility criteria for this playoff, as explained below, to preserve the essence of Puzzle Ramayan.


All players who have achieved any one of the following are NOT eligible to participate in the playoff to determine the Puzzle Ramayan winner.
  • Represented India in A-Team at the World Puzzle Championship at least once in the last 10 years.
  • Represented India in B-Team / UN-Team at the World Puzzle Championship at least twice in the last 10 years.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate in the playoff:
  • Aman Pruthi (WPC 2010)
  • Amit Sowani (WPC 2016)
  • Harmeet Singh (WPC 2009)
  • Jaipal Reddy (WPC 2009)
  • Jayant Ameta (WPC 2014)
  • Kishore Kumar (WPC 2015, 2016)
  • Lenson Andrade (WPC 2008)
  • Lovely Krishna (WPC 2009)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WPC 2016)
  • Puneet Goenka (WPC 2009)
  • Rajesh Kumar (WPC 2013)
  • Rajib Ranjan Borah (WPC 2011)
  • Rakesh Rai (WPC 2012)
  • Ritesh Gupta (WPC 2007)
  • Rohan Rao (WPC 2016)
  • Sumit Bothra (WPC 2007)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WPC 2016)
  • Tejal Phatak (WPC 2011)

Offline finals: New registration process

  • There is a change in the way the offline finals' slots are filled up. We want to encourage solvers who aren't near the top yet but still want the experience of an offline final. The eligibility criteria is that the solver must have participated in at least 3 of the 4 online rounds ('participated' here means achieving a non-zero score in the round) OR reaches the top 60 within two or less rounds. After Round 4, we will ask the solvers from 1-20 first and give them a week to confirm participation. After this, registrations will be open to participants from 21-40 for a week, and then it is open to everyone 'eligible' by the criteria above, till we get to 60 participants. After that, due to venue restrictions, we will be ending registrations.
  • The points total from the online rounds (i.e. the best 3 rounds for each participant) will be considered to give some base points to finalists to start with in the offline round. Specifically, the finalists will start with an average of their best 3 normalized scores.


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • Top-10 players at the offline finals will be awarded prizes in the form of LMI merchandise.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-21yrs and over-50yrs will receive special prizes.
  • All players travelling from other countries (non-Indian citizens), will receive special prizes.
RoundsAuthorDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
Classics & RegionsRobert Vollmert27-30 JanRohan RaoAshish KumarSwaroop Guggilam
Shading & LoopsWalker Anderson17-20 FebRohan RaoSwaroop GuggilamRajesh Kumar
Object Placement & PentominoNikola Zivanovic
Cedomir Milanovic
17-20 MarRohan RaoAshish KumarSwaroop Guggilam
Number Placement & EvergreensSalih Alan21-24 AprRajesh KumarRohan RaoSwaroop Guggilam
All rounds will be open throughout the weekends and on Mondays. They will also be open on Friday nights.
All times in Indian Standard Time (GMT+5:30)


Each round will have 22 Puzzles to be solved in 90 minutes
  • Three Puzzles each of three types for the first theme
  • Two exploratory variants in one type for the first theme
  • Three Puzzles each of three types for the second theme
  • Two exploratory variants in one type for the second theme
  • The exploratory variants will be from the six puzzle types


    • In each round, best Indian score among eligible players will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
    • For International Rankings - The best score in the round will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
    • Also see : http://logicmastersindia.com/forum/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=1013&start=26#M19751.
    • You will get points as allotted for each puzzle correctly submitted.
    • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting you will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions.
    • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all puzzles correctly within 90 minutes.
    • For determining rankings for offline finals consideration, each player's best 3 scores out of 4 online rounds will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst score is discarded).

    International Players

    • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
    • These contests will be included in LMI Puzzle ratings.
    • International players are not eligible to win either the IPC or the Ramayan title at the offline finals but can attend and participate managing their own expenses. We request any interested International players to let the organizers know early, between Round 3 and Round 4, so we can consider it in our plans.


    If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.

Last edited by prasanna16391 @ 5/11/2017 6:15:32 PM.