In the example, there are no given clues in the grey cells. Is this the case in the competition puzzle and is the solving of the clues part of the puzzle? In other words, are there given clues in the grey cells and does the rule sets apply only to these rows/columns with the clues, or does the rule apply to all rows/columns even if the clue is not given as in the example?
There may or may not be given clues in the grey cells. But there will be grey cells clearly marked to indicate where a clue applies to 2 adjacent grids.