Discussion Thread

About Sudoku Mahabharat 2018

Logic Masters India (LMI) is conducting the Indian Sudoku Championship (ISC) 2018 (tentatively) in August-2018. Like 2016 and 2017, the qualification for ISC will begin early, from January 2018 onwards, in the form of Sudoku Mahabharat online rounds. The structure is different this year, there are two rounds more than last year. Read on to find out more.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best Sudoku solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 6 online rounds (approximately one every month), based on different themes of Sudoku variants. In 2017, we had 4 online rounds with 8 different themes. These 8 themes will be repeated this time, but some new themes have been added, and some rounds are based on one theme while some are based on two themes.
  • Like last year, the offline final will have a participation fee which will mainly be to recover venue/food costs. This fee will be updated a little later once the venue is confirmed. The online rounds will continue to be free for all.
  • There are 3-4* spots for the Indian A team for WSC 2018, which will be decided by this tournament.
    *Depending on whether the player awarded a wildcard from WSC 2016 participates.
  • There will be a separate playoff at the end of the offline finals to determine the Mahabharat winner. There will be an eligibility criteria for this playoff, as explained below, to preserve the essence of Sudoku Mahabharat.


All players who have achieved any one of the following are NOT eligible to participate in the playoff to determine the Sudoku Mahabharat winner.
  • Represented India in A-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least once in the last 10 years..
  • Represented India in B-Team / UN-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least twice in the last 10 years..
  • Won the Sudoku Mahabharat title twice.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate in the playoff:
  • Amit Sowani (WSC 2015-B, WSC 2016-B)
  • Gaurav Korde (WSC 2012-A)
  • Gaurav Kumar Jain (WSC 2016-B, WSC 2017-B)
  • Himani Shah (WSC 2008-A)
  • Jaipal Reddy (WSC 2017-A)
  • Kishore Kumar (WSC 2017-A)
  • Pranav Kamesh (WSC 2017-A)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WSC 2016-A)
  • Puneet Goenka (WSC 2009-B, WSC 2015-B)
  • Rajesh Kumar (WSC 2015-B, WSC 2016-B)
  • Rakesh Rai (WSC 2016-A)
  • Rishi Puri (WSC 2017-A)
  • Ritesh Gupta (WSC 2010-A)
  • Rohan Rao (WSC 2016-A)
  • Sumit Bothra (WSC 2014-A)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WSC 2014-B, WSC 2016-B)
  • Tejal Phatak (WSC 2011-A)

Offline finals: Registration process

  • The process of filling up the offline finals' slots is the same as last year's process. We want to encourage solvers who aren't near the top yet but still want the experience of an offline final. The eligibility criteria is that the solver must have participated in at least 4 of the 6 online rounds ('participated' here means achieving a non-zero score in the round) OR reaches the top 60 within two or less rounds. After Round 6, we will ask the solvers from 1-30 first and give them a week to confirm participation. After this, registrations will be open to participants from 31-60 for a week, and then it is open to everyone 'eligible' by the criteria above, till we get to 60 participants. After that, due to venue restrictions, we will be ending registrations.
  • The points total from the online rounds (i.e. the best 4 rounds for each participant) will be considered to give some base points to finalists to start with in the offline round. Specifically, the finalists will start with an average of their best 4 normalized scores.
  • If online round organizers participate in the offline finals they will automatically get the same base points as the top solver of the online rounds


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-21yrs and over-50yrs will receive special prizes.
  • All players travelling from other countries (non-Indians), will receive special prizes.
  • Best Author(s) will receive a prize (based on Overall Ratings)
RoundsAuthorDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
Converse & Twisted ClassicsAkash Doulani12-15 JanKishore KumarRohan RaoShaheer Rahman
StandardHemant Kr Malani & Swaroop Guggilam09-12 FebRohan RaoRishi PuriKishore Kumar
Outside & NeighboursRamesh Swarnakar & Rakesh Rai02-05 MarRohan RaoAashay PatilKishore Kumar
Substitution & Odd EvenR. Kumaresan & Amit Sowani30 Mar-02 AprRishi PuriRohan RaoAshish Kumar
MathGaurav K. Jain27-30 AprRishi PuriRohan RaoAmit Sowani
Irregular & HybridsAshish Kumar01-05 JunRishi PuriRohan RaoKishore Kumar
All rounds will be open throughout the weekends and on Mondays. They will also be open on Friday nights.
All times in Indian Standard Time (GMT+5:30)


Each round will have 18 Sudokus to be solved in 90 minutes
One-theme rounds will have the following composition:
  • Four 6X6 Standard Sudokus
  • One 8x8 Standard Sudoku
  • Three 9X9 Standard Sudoku
  • Five 6X6 Sudoku Variants
  • Five 9X9 Sudoku Variants
Two-theme rounds will have the following composition:
  • Two 6X6 Standard Sudokus
  • Four 9X9 Standard Sudokus
  • Six 6X6 Sudoku Variants
  • Six 9X9 Sudoku Variants
Any Sudoku variants used in each round will appear in both sizes, 6x6 and 9x9, i.e. there will not be more than five/six different Sudoku variants in a round.


  • In each round, the best Indian score among eligible players will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • For International Rankings - The best score in the round will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • Also see : http://logicmastersindia.com/forum/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=1013&start=26#M19751.
  • You will get points as allotted for each sudoku correctly submitted.
  • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting you will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions.
  • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all sudokus correctly within 90 minutes.
  • For determining rankings for offline finals consideration, each player's best 4 scores out of 6 online rounds will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst two scores are discarded). For authors, the round authored is considered as a round with a 0 score.

International Players

  • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
  • These contests will be included in LMI Sudoku ratings.
  • International players are not eligible to win either the ISC or the Mahabharat title at the offline finals but can attend and participate managing their own expenses. We request any interested International players to let the organizers know early, before Round 5, so we can consider it in our plans.


If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.

Last edited by Administrator @ 12/4/2018 3:45:35 PM.