Discussion Thread

About Sudoku Mahabharat 2015-16

Logic Masters India (LMI) is conducting the Indian Sudoku Championship (ISC) 2016 (tentatively) in July-2016. Unlike the last few years, the format is different, as the qualification for the ISC will begin in August 2015.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best sudoku solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 8 online rounds (one every month), based on different themes of sudoku variants.
  • The top-50 Indian players from the online rounds will be invited for a one-day finals, where the finalists will compete against each other, in a typical WSC-style format, consisting of 4/5 rounds.
  • Unlike last year, this offline final will have a participation fee which will mainly be to recover venue/food costs. This fee will be updated a few rounds later once the venue is confirmed. The online rounds will continue to be free for all.
  • The best Indian at WSC 2015 will get a wild card on the team for WSC 2016.
  • The remaining 3 spots will be decided by this tournament. Barring the special case mentioned below, the top 3 solvers from the offline finals will secure a place on the Indian A team for WSC 2016.
  • There will be a separate playoff after these rounds to determine the Mahabharat winner. There will be an eligibility criteria for this playoff, as explained below, to preserve the essence of Sudoku Mahabharat.


All players who have achieved any one of the following are NOT eligible to participate in the playoff to determine the Sudoku Mahabharat winner.
  • Represented India in A-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least once.
  • Represented India in B-Team / UN-Team at the World Sudoku Championship at least twice.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate in the playoff:
  • Amit Agarwal (WSC 2006)
  • Amit Sowani (WSC 2007)
  • Gaurav Korde (WSC 2012)
  • Himani Shah (WSC 2008)
  • Jaipal Reddy (WSC 2013)
  • Kishore Kumar (WSC 2015)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WSC 2015)
  • Puneet Goenka (WSC 2009, WSC 2015)
  • Rajesh Kumar (WSC 2007)
  • Rajiv Kumar Aggarwal (WSC 2006)
  • Rakesh Rai (WSC 2012)
  • Rishi Puri (WSC 2015)
  • Ritesh Gupta (WSC 2010)
  • Rohan Rao (WSC 2015)
  • Sudhir Shankar Raman (WSC 2006)
  • Sumit Bothra (WSC 2014)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)
  • Tejal Phatak (WSC 2011)


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • Top-10 players at the offline finals will be awarded prizes in the form of LMI merchandise.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-21yrs and over-50yrs will receive special prizes.
  • All players travelling from other countries (non-Indians), will receive special prizes.
RoundsAuthorDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
Standard VariationsDeb Mohanty22-24 AugRohan RaoKishore KumarRakesh Rai
NeighboursPrasanna Seshadri, Aditi Seshadri12-14 SepRohan RaoJayant AmetaKishore Kumar
Odd EvenSwaroop Guggilam, Ashish Kumar24-26 OctRohan RaoRakesh RaiJayant Ameta
MathRohan Rao14-16 NovKishore KumarJaipal ReddyRajesh Kumar
OutsideRishi Puri12-14 DecRohan RaoRakesh RaiKishore Kumar
Twisted ClassicsRajesh Kumar9-11 JanRohan RaoKishore KumarRakesh Rai
ConverseRakesh Rai, Harmeet Singh12-15 FebRohan RaoSuvarnaShaheer Rahman
IrregularAkash Doulani, Amit Sowani, Gaurav Kumar Jain12-14 MarRohan RaoRakesh RaiKishore Kumar
ISC Finals Prasanna Seshadri, Deb Mohanty16 JulRohan RaoRakesh RaiKishore Kumar
SM Finals Prasanna Seshadri, Deb Mohanty16 JulAkash DoulaniGaurav Kumar JainHarmeet Singh
All rounds will be open throughout the weekends and on Mondays. They will also be open on Friday nights.
All times in Indian Standard Time (GMT+5:30)


Each round will have 18 Sudokus to be solved in 90 minutes
  • Four 6X6 Standard Sudokus
  • One 8X8 Standard Sudoku
  • Three 9X9 Standard Sudoku
  • Five 6X6 Sudoku Variants
  • Five 9X9 Sudoku Variants
The same five Sudoku Variants will appear in both sizes, 6x6 and 9x9.


  • Each round is worth 100 points. You will get points as allotted for each sudoku correctly submitted.
  • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting you will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions.
  • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all sudokus correctly within 90 minutes.
  • For determining top 50 for offline finals, each player's best 6 scores out of 8 will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst two scores are discarded).

International Players

  • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
  • These contests will be included in LMI Sudoku ratings.
  • International players are not eligible to win either the ISC or the Mahabharat title at the offline finals but can attend and participate managing their own expenses.


If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.

Last edited by Rohan Rao @ 7/20/2016 10:16:41 PM.