Discussion Thread


The finals will be held in Bangalore on 10th May. Details posted here. Instructions booklet published. Details here.

About Sudoku Mahabharat 2014-15

Logic Masters India is conducting the first 'Sudoku Mahabharat' from Sep-2014 to May-2015.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best sudoku solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 7 online rounds (one every month), based on different themes of sudoku variants.
  • The top-50 Indian players from the online rounds will be invited for a one-day finals to be held in Bangalore in May, 2015, where the finalists will compete against each other, in a typical WSC-style format, consisting of 4/5 rounds.


All players who have achieved any one of the following in previous 3yrs (2012, 2013, 2014) are NOT eligible to participate.
  • Represented India (in A-Team / B-Team / UN-Team) at the World Sudoku Championship at least twice.
  • Winner of Sudoku Mahabharat at least twice.
  • Represented India (in A-Team / B-Team / UN-Team) at the World Sudoku Championship once and Winner of Sudoku Mahabharat once.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate this year:
  • Jaipal Reddy (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)
  • Rishi Puri (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)
  • Rohan Rao (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)
  • Sumit Bothra (WSC 2012, WSC 2014)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WSC 2013, WSC 2014)


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • Top-10 players at the offline finals will be awarded prizes in the form of LMI merchandise.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-18yrs and Over-40yrs will receive special prizes.
RoundsDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
Standard by Rishi Puri20-22 SepKishore KumarJayant AmetaAmit Sowani
Irregular by Rohan Rao18-20 OctKishore KumarRakesh RaiPrakhar Gupta
Odd-Even by Deb Mohanty15-17 NovRakesh RaiKishore KumarShaheer Rahman
Outside by Rakesh Rai20-22 DecAmit SowaniKishore KumarRajesh Kumar
Math by Prasanna Seshadri17-19 JanJayant AmetaKishore KumarRakesh Rai
Neighbours by Rajesh Kumar21-23 FebJayant AmetaKishore KumarRakesh Rai
Converse by Swaroop Guggilam21-23 MarKishore KumarAmit SowaniRakesh Rai
Finals (Bangalore)10 May 2015


Each round will have 18 Sudokus to be solved in 90 minutes
  • Four 6X6 Standard Sudokus
  • One 8X8 Standard Sudoku
  • Three 9X9 Standard Sudoku
  • Five 6X6 Sudoku Variants
  • Five 9X9 Sudoku Variants
The same five Sudoku Variants will appear in both sizes, 6x6 and 9x9.


  • Each round is worth 100 points. You will get points as allotted for each sudoku correctly submitted.
  • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting you will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions.
  • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all sudokus correctly within 90 minutes.
  • For determining top 50 for offline finals, each player's best 6 scores out of 7 will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst score is discarded).

Current Leaderboard

International Players

  • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
  • These contests will be included in LMI Sudoku ratings.
  • International players are not eligible for offline finals.


If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.