Discussion Thread

About Puzzle Ramayan 2019

Logic Masters India (LMI) is conducting the Indian Puzzle Championship (IPC) 2019 (tentatively) in July-2019. Like previous years, the qualification for IPC will begin early, from January 2019 onwards, in the form of Puzzle Ramayan online rounds. The structure is largely the same as last year. Read on to find out more.
  • This is a national contest aimed at encouraging the best puzzle solvers of India to participate and experience the excitement, thrill and puzzling atmosphere on the lines of various national championships and the World Championships.
  • The championship consists of 6 online rounds (approximately one every month), based on 10 different themes of Puzzle types and their variants. Most of the themes of 2018 are repeated, with minor changes.
  • Like previous years, the offline final will have a participation fee which will mainly be to recover venue/food costs. This fee will be updated a little later once the venue is confirmed. The online rounds will continue to be free for all.
  • There are 3-4* spots for the Indian A team for WPC 2019, which will be decided by this tournament.
    *Depending on whether the player awarded a wildcard from WPC 2018 participates.
  • There will be a separate playoff at the end of the offline finals to determine the Mahabharat winner. There will be an eligibility criteria for this playoff, as explained below, to preserve the essence of Puzzle Ramayan.


All players who have achieved any one of the following are NOT eligible to participate in the playoff to determine the Puzzle Ramayan winner.
  • Represented India in A-Team at the World Puzzle Championship at least once in the last 10 years..
  • Represented India in B-Team / UN-Team at the World Puzzle Championship at least twice in the last 10 years..
  • Won the Puzzle Ramayan title twice.
According to LMI Records, the following players (in alphabetical order) are not eligible to participate in the playoff:
  • Aman Pruthi (WPC 2010-A)
  • Amit Sowani (WPC 2018-A)
  • Ashish Kumar (WPC 2018-A)
  • Harmeet Singh (WPC 2017-A)
  • Jaipal Reddy (WPC 2017-A)
  • Jayant Ameta (WPC 2014-A)
  • Kishore Kumar (WPC 2017-A)
  • Lovely Krishna (WPC 2009-A)
  • Prasanna Seshadri (WPC 2018-A)
  • Puneet Goenka (WPC 2009-A)
  • Rajesh Kumar (WPC 2013-A)
  • Rajib Ranjan Borah (WPC 2017-A)
  • Rakesh Rai (WPC 2012-A)
  • Rohan Rao (WPC 2018-A)
  • Swaroop Guggilam (WPC 2016-A)
  • Tejal Phatak (WPC 2011-A)

Offline finals: New registration process

  • The process of filling up the offline finals' slots is the same as last year's process. We want to encourage solvers who aren't near the top yet but still want the experience of an offline final. The eligibility criteria is that the solver must have participated in at least 4 of the 6 online rounds ('participated' here means achieving a non-zero score in the round) OR reaches the top 60 within two or less rounds. After Round 6, we will ask the solvers from 1-30 first and give them a week to confirm participation. After this, registrations will be open to participants from 31-60 for a week, and then it is open to everyone 'eligible' by the criteria above, till we get to 60 participants. After that, due to venue restrictions, we will be ending registrations.
  • The points total from the online rounds (i.e. the best 4 rounds for each participant) will be considered to give some base points to finalists to start with in the offline round. Specifically, the finalists will start with an average of their best 4 normalized scores.
  • If online round organizers participate in the offline finals they will automatically get the same base points as the top solver of the online rounds


All players who appear for the offline finals will receive a certificate.
  • Top-3 players at the offline finals will be awarded medals / trophies.
  • All players at the offline finals Under-21yrs and over-50yrs will receive special prizes.
  • All players travelling from other countries (non-Indians), will receive special prizes.
  • Best Author(s) will receive a prize (based on Overall Ratings)
RoundsAuthorDatesIndia 1India 2India 3
ClassicsRohan Rao4-8 JanPrasanna SeshadriAmit SowaniSwaroop Guggilam
Connected PuzzlesPrasanna Seshadri25-30 JanRohan RaoAmit SowaniSwaroop Guggilam
Shading & LoopsAmit Sowani22-26 FebPrasanna SeshadriRohan RaoAshish Kumar
Casual & WordRakesh Rai22-27 MarRohan RaoPrasanna SeshadriAmit Sowani
Made In India & RegionsAshish Kumar & Swaroop Guggilam3-7 MayPrasanna SeshadriRohan RaoAmit Sowani
Number & Object PlacementHarmeet Singh & Prasanna Seshadri31 May-5 JuneRohan RaoAmit SowaniAshish Kumar
All rounds will be open from Friday noon to Tuesday midnight.
All times in Indian Standard Time (GMT+5:30)


Rounds* will have the following format:
  • Three Puzzles each of three types for the first theme
  • Two exploratory variants in one type for the first theme
  • Three Puzzles each of three types for the second theme
  • Two exploratory variants in one type for the second theme
  • The exploratory variants will be from the six puzzle types
*Round 4's format will be announced with the Instruction Booklet for the round.


  • In each round, the best Indian score among eligible players will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • For International Rankings - The best score in the round will be scaled to 100. Others' scores will be adjusted proportionately.
  • Also see : http://logicmastersindia.com/forum/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=1013&start=26#M19751.
  • You will get points as allotted for each puzzle correctly submitted.
  • Instant Grading is enabled, so upon submitting you will know if the answer is correct or not. Penalty exists for wrong submissions.
  • There will be a time bonus of 1 point per full minute saved by players submitting all puzzles correctly within 90 minutes.
  • For determining rankings for offline finals consideration, each player's best 4 scores out of 6 online rounds will be summed up to calculate the total score (so, the worst two scores are discarded). For authors, the round authored is considered as a round with a 0 score.

International Players

  • Like every other contests at LMI, international players are encouraged to participate in these contests
  • These contests will be included in LMI Puzzle ratings.
  • International players are not eligible to win either the IPC or the Ramayan title at the offline finals but can attend and participate managing their own expenses. We request any interested International players to let the organizers know early, between Round 4 and Round 5, so we can consider it in our plans.


If you have any questions or doubts or suggestions, please ask in the forum.

Last edited by Administrator @ 6/6/2019 8:47:36 AM.